ARC Review – Until It Hurts To Stop by Jennifer R. Hubbard

Until It Hurts to Stop

Title:  Until It Hurts To Stop

Pages:  256

Author:  Jennifer R. Hubbard

Series:   no, standalone

Type/Genre:  Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Publisher:  Viking Juvenile

Date Published:  September 12, 2013

Source:  from publisher

My Rating:  ***

Goodreads Summary:

In seventh grade, Maggie Camden was the class outcast. Every day, the other girls tripped her, pinched her, trapped her in the bathroom, told her she would be better off dead. Four years have passed since then, and Maggie’s tormentors seem to have moved on. The ringleader of them all, Raleigh Barringer, even moved out of town. But Maggie has never stopped watching for attacks, and every laugh still sounds like it’s at her expense. The only time Maggie feels at peace is when she’s hiking up in the mountains with her best friend, Nick. Lately, though, there’s a new sort of tension between the two of them—a tension both dangerous and delicious. But how can Maggie expect anything more out of Nick when all she’s ever been told is that she’s ugly, she’s pathetic, she’s unworthy of love? And how can she ever feel safe, now that Raleigh Barringer is suddenly—terrifyingly—back in town?

My Thoughts:  This was the first time I have read anything by Jennifer R. Hubbard and I liked it.  This book took a realistic take on the issue of bullying and the lasting effects it has.  I liked the message that it sends about standing up to your bully without violence or stooping to their level.

Likes:

  • It was sad that Maggie spent so much time waiting and worrying when the next attack from Raleigh, who wasn’t even thinking about her, instead of concentrating on her own life.  She lost focus of her relationships because of it.  It was such a real portrayal of what someone goes through when being bullied that it was heartbreaking.
  • I admired Maggie’s strength of character that kept her going back to school, even when she expected an attack, and kept pushing her to climb that mountain, even when she was scared.

Dislikes:

  • I liked Nick’s character mostly, but I could not stand how passive he was.  I guess that comes from his issues with his father, but he should have stood up to him also.  I have to remember that these kids are in high school but it drove me crazy that he liked one person but couldn’t talk to her about it so he got involved with a different girl instead.
  • The pace of the story was a little slow.  I guess I have been reading a lot of fast-paced, action-packed stories lately, but that is not what this story was supposed to be about.

About the Author:

Thanks for visiting my page. A few words of explanation about how I use Goodreads:

I find it difficult to rate books with stars, or to review friends’ books. Therefore, I don’t list reviews or ratings here. Rather, if I like an author’s work, I will become a Goodreads fan and list him/her as a “favorite author” here. I also have one shelf listing some contemporary, realistic YA books that you might enjoy. On my blog, http://writerjenn.livejournal.com/, I do sometimes recommend books using the “recommended read” tag.

I accept fans and friends here, and browse the bookshelves.

A Few of the Author’s Other Books:

  • The Secret Year
  • Try Not To Breathe

Would I Recommend This Book?  Yes

I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This, in no way, affected my opinion or review of this book.

Read for this challenge:

One thought on “ARC Review – Until It Hurts To Stop by Jennifer R. Hubbard

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap – 11/11/13 to 11/17/13 | Leenie Always Reading

Leave a Reply

