Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon Update Post

dewey

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon, 10/12/13 Update Post!

This will be my update post for the day.

Best of Choice Mini-Challenge

Best Book of Your Reading Year – Hate List by Jennifer Brown

Best Romance Book of Your Reading Year – The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks

Best YA Book of Your Reading Year – Forget You by Jennifer Echols

Best Mystery Book of Your Reading Year – Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

Best Fiction Book of Your Reading Year – Caught by Harlan Coben

Best Author of Your Reading Year – Nicholas Sparks, Jennifer Echols, Harlan Coben, Blake Crouch (I couldn’t pick just one)

Best Supporting Character of Your Reading Year – Tessa & PG from The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle

Mid-Event Survey

1) How are you doing? Sleepy? Are your eyes tired?  Starting to get a little sleepy and my eyes are tired, but I’m making good progress getting through my books.  I didn’t get as much sleep last night as I had hoped.  I’m thinking about taking a short nap.
2) What have you finished reading?  Dead is the New Black #1, The Raft, Vengeance #14, That Summer
3) What is your favorite read so far?  Vengeance – I thought Ominous was the last book in this series for some reason when I finished it and I was so disappointed in the ending.  I found out there was one more and I liked this ending much better.
4) What about your favorite snacks?  dark chocolate M & M’s
5) Have you found any new blogs through the readathon? If so, give them some love!
I checked out these blogs & started following them.
Introductory Challenge Survey
1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Southern Illinois
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? The Raft or That Summer or…  I don’t know, they all look good.  I hope anyway.3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? Chips and salsa4) Tell us a little something about yourself!  I’m 35.  I have three kids, which are out of the house today so I should get a lot of reading done.  I think I read a fairly good mix of genres, but then when I read other people’s book lists, I haven’t heard of a lot of their books.  I don’t know if I’m going to manage the whole 24 hours, it’s been a long time since I stayed up that long, but still hoping to get a lot of reading done.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?  This is my first Dewey’s Read-a-thon and I’m looking forward to checking out new blogs and crossing some of these books off of my TBR pile.

Starting off with Dead is the New Black #1 by Marlene Perez.  My personal goal is to get six of these read.  Here’s my list of possibilities:
  1. Dead is the New Black #1 by Marlene Perez
  2. Dead is a State of Mind #2 by Marlene Perez
  3. Dead is So Last Year #3 by Marlene Perez
  4. The Giver by Lois Lowry
  5. That Summer by Sarah Dessen
  6. The One That I Want by Jennifer Echols
  7. The Raft by S. A. Bodeen
  8. 13 Little Blue Envelopes #1 by Maureen Johnson
  9. The Last Little Blue Envelope #2 by Maureen Johnson
  10. A Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard
  11. Vengeance #14 by Kate Brian
  12. Thousand Words by Jennifer Brown
  13. Fade Away #3 by Harlan Coben (audiobook)
  14. The First Days #1 by Rhiannon Frater (audiobook)
Update #1 – 7:00 – 11:00 am
I didn’t actually start until 9:00 though.
Books Read:  Dead is the New Black, The Raft
Total Books Read:  1
Pages Read:  190/10/
Snacks:  bagel w/ chives & onion cream cheese, chocolate coffee
Challenges:  Introductory Challenge
Breaks/Naps:  long enough to do a load of laundry & make breakfast
Update #2 – 11:00 – 4 pm
Books Read:  Dead is the New Black, The Raft, Vengeance
Total Books Read:  2
Pages Read:  190/231/56 = 477
Time Spent Reading:  4 hours, 8 minutes
Snacks:  spaghetti & clams, some Cheez-its, some dark chocolate M & M’s
Challenges:  none
Breaks/Naps:  son’s soccer game
Update #3 – 4:00 – 8:00 pm
Books Read:  Dead is the New BlackThe Raft, Vengeance, That Summer, Fade Away (audio book), getting ready to start A Stolen Life
Total Books Read:  4 (over half-way to accomplishing my goal of 6)
Pages Read:  190/231/224/198 = 843
Time Spent Reading: 5 hours, 50 minutes, and listening to an audiobook for 45 minutes
Snacks:  beef stew for dinner, making cookies for snack, gatorade & water for drinks
Challenges:  Mid-Event Survey, Best of Choice Mini-Challenge
Breaks/Naps:  I tried to take a nap but must be the coffee from earlier keeping me awake.  My eyes are getting tired though.  I would like to make it to 6 books at least, but I don’t think I will make the 24 hours.
Update #4 – 8:00 – 12:00 am
Books Read:  Dead is the New BlackThe RaftVengeance, That Summer, Fade Away (audio book), getting ready to start A Stolen Life
Total Books Read:  4 (over half-way to accomplishing my goal of 6)
Pages Read:  190/231/224/198 = 843
Time Spent Reading: 5 hours, 50 minutes, and listening to an audio book for 45 minutes
Snacks:  chocolate chip chunk cookies & milk
Challenges:  Audiobook Dream Date & Cheap Thrills
Breaks/Naps:  none
Update #5 – 12:00 – 2:00 am
Books Read:  Dead is the New BlackThe RaftVengeance, That Summer, Fade Away (audio book), DNF – A Stolen Life (plan on reading this some other time, wanted something lighter), Dead is a State of Mind #2Dead is So Last Year #3
Total Books Read:  6 – made my goal!
Pages Read:  190/231/224/198/31/175/192 = 1241
Time Spent Reading: 10 hours and listened to an audio book for 45 minutes
Snacks:  none
Challenges:  none
Breaks/Naps:  none, but thinking about going to bed & read until I fall asleep, daughter’s soccer game tomorrow
7 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon Update Post

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap – 10/07/13 to 10/13/13 | Leenie Always Reading

  2. Your snacks sound so like the ones we’ve been having all day. Yeum!

    I’m on Infinite Kung-Fu – not really a serious read, but nicely entertaining. 🙂

    A quote to keep you going:

    “Reading is the sole means by which we slip, involuntarily, often helplessly, into another’s skin, another’s voice, another’s soul.”
    ― Joyce Carol Oates

    #TeamFox (of all things cheering)

Leave a Reply

