Review – Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

Rose Under FireTitle:  Rose Under Fire (Code Name Verity #2)

Pages:  368

Author:  Elizabeth Wein

Series:   Code Name Verity #2

Type/Genre:  Young Adult, historical fiction, war

Publisher:  Disney Book Group

Date Published:  September 10, 2013

Source:  from publisher

My Rating:  ****

Goodreads Summary:  While flying an Allied fighter plane from Paris to England, American ATA pilot and amateur poet, Rose Justice, is captured by the Nazis and sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious women’s concentration camp. Trapped in horrific circumstances, Rose finds hope in the impossible through the loyalty, bravery and friendship of her fellow prisoners. But will that be enough to endure the fate that’s in store for her?Elizabeth Wein, author of the critically-acclaimed and best-selling Code Name Verity, delivers another stunning WWII thriller. The unforgettable story of Rose Justice is forged from heart-wrenching courage, resolve, and the slim, bright chance of survival.

My Thoughts:

This is my first time reading this author and usually I do not read books like this.  I enjoy reading historical fiction but tend to avoid war stories.  Ever since my younger brother served in Iraq (thankfully he is home safe now & out of the Army) I just don’t want to read or even watch movies about wars.  I will say that I’m glad I gave this book a chance.  The story was well written and if you didn’t know differently you would think it was a true story.  I did not read Code Name Verity before I read Rose Under Fire, but I will have to add it to my ever-growing TBR list.

  • I love the cover.  I think it’s perfectly fitting for the story.
  • Parts of this story just made me cringe – the conditions these people had to survive and the torture they had to go through.   The author has a note at the end of the book that this story is only a small part of WWII.  I mean obviously, but it’s just heart-breaking that there is more.
  • The friendships forged over Roses’ six month span in the camps were very touching.  I think my favorite characters were Rose and Irina.  I really liked Roz a also.  The small rebellions they staged and the way they looked out for & protected each other showed their courage and gave the reader hope they would survive.  My least favorite character would be Nick, but I don’t want to give away too much there.
  • I don’t know if or how it detracted from the story but I could not read the letters or handwriting samples on my Kindle.  The print was very faint.

About the Author:

Check out her website http://www.elizabethwein.com.

Author’s Other Books:

  • Code Name Verity #1
  • The Lion Hunter Series

Would I Recommend This Book?  Yes

One thought on “Review – Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap – 09/30/13 to 10/06/13 | Leenie Always Reading

Leave a Reply

